Hey!

I'm Carina Schmid

Communication trainer specializing in mindful communication for health professionals. I love the fact that I love my work for over 20 years now. 

I live in Brooklyn, New York and I'm also at home in southern Germany. Hence my Hänglish (High German with Swabian Dialect meets English).

Gold Heart Icon

You want to solve conflicts with confidence?

Without causing harm or getting harmed?

You want to show your limits clearly?

Without compromising the relationship or burning yourself out?

You want to communicate with empathy?

Without needing more of your scarce time?


I know these moments all too well. In my years as a nurse and as the Director of Global Health Programs of an international organization focusing on health communication, I gained a lot of first-hand experience with interpersonal and behavior change communication. A turning point in my communication practice and trainings came when I discovered mindfulness and nonviolent communication by Marshall Rosenberg.

Communication gives me the strength and energy for whatever comes up each day. I learned to stay connected with myself and build authentic relationships. I really enjoy passing on my knowledge and look forward to accompanying you on your journey.

Carina Schmid
Carina Schmid

I know these moments all too well. In my years as a nurse and as the Director of Global Health Programs of an international organization focusing on health communication, I gained a lot of first-hand experience with interpersonal and behavior change communication. A turning point in my communication practice and trainings came when I discovered mindfulness and nonviolent communication by Marshall Rosenberg.

Communication gives me the strength and energy for whatever comes up each day. I learned to stay connected with myself and build authentic relationships. I really enjoy passing on my knowledge and look forward to accompanying you on your journey.

What I think about when I hear the following words

For everyone who would like to know more about me.

Meditation

Meditation has changed my life for the better. Before, I sometimes felt like a balloon swirling through the air. Everything felt unsafe, I followed other tempting balloons and wasn't quite sure which direction was mine. Meditation sets an important anchor that gives me security and clarity.

Improvisation Theatre

When I'm on stage with nothing but a vague idea, I have no choice but to trust myself, to be present, and to follow my fear. Everything starts with the sentence: Yes, and. No no, no but, no maybe. It's not about how good I am, but how I create something new together with my fellow players.

Soap Operas

We like to learn through stories. As Director of Health Programs, I inspired change through soap operas, with lots of drama, villains, and heartbreak. This passion is not just professional, as I'm an avowed fan of the German show Storm of Love. I’ll spare you the details, but yes, it is as cheesy as it sounds.

Favorite Place

I'm at home in many places and love to travel. Through my work with UNICEF and various health ministries, I was able to get to know many people and cultures worldwide. Despite all these wonderful experiences, Oberstdorf has remained my favorite place since I was a child. When I'm in the Alps, I can let go.

Hasselhoff

I'm the oldest of three girls and if there is one place where communication is going to town, it's in our families. As sisters, we learned to negotiate early on, e.g. on daylong car trips to the Adriatic Sea when my dad brought cassettes of local oompah bands. It's took SOME "Are we there yet" before we heard our music. 

Motto

“If you stop learning, you stop being good.” I love growing and discovering new things. My first graduation was the lowest high school degree in the German school system. Now I teach at my alma mater Columbia University here in New York and really enjoy exploring with my students. 

Professional Milestones

2020-present Brooklyn, NY
Carina Schmid, LLC Founded
2020-present Columbia University, New York, NY
Lecturer

Lecturer of the MPH course New Media and Health at the Mailman School for Public Health.

2020 The Center for Nonviolent Communication
Nonviolent Communication Intensive Training
2020 Oren Jay Sofer
Mindful Communication Training
2020 UMass Memorial Healthcare Center for Mindfulness
Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction Training
2012-2019 PCI Media, New York, NY
Global Health Programs Director

Behavior change communication using storytelling & Entertainment Education. Training of trainers for health professionals and ministries of health staff in interpersonal and behavior change communication. 

2012 Columbia University, New York, NY
Master of Public Health

Health promotion and health communication.

2009 FHTW, Berlin, Germany
Bachelor of Business Communication

Health communication.

2000-2006 RKU, Ulm, Germany
Head Nurse, Stroke Unit
1999 Biberach, Germany
Registered Nurse

Are you ready to communicate with impact?

Subscribe to my newsletter to get communication tips and insights.

Hey!

Ich bin Carina Schmid

Kommunikationstrainerin mit dem Schwerpunkt achtsame Kommunikation für Gesundheitsfachkräfte. Ich liebe es, meine Arbeit zu lieben, seit nunmehr über 20 Jahren. 

Ich lebe in Brooklyn, New York und bin auch in Süddeutschland zuhause. Deshalb auch mein Hänglisch (Hochdeutsches Schwäbisch trifft Englisch).

Gold Heart Icon

Du möchtest Konflikte selbstbewußt lösen

Ohne dabei zu verletzen oder selbst verletzt zu werden?

Du möchtest Deine Grenzen klar aufzeigen?

Ohne dabei die Beziehung zu gefährden oder Dich auszubrennen?

Du möchtest mit Empathie kommunizieren?

Ohne dafür mehr von Deiner knappen Zeit zu brauchen?


Ich kenne diese Momente nur zu gut. Als Krankenschwester und Direktorin für Gesundheitsprogramme einer internationalen Organization durfte ich reichlich Erfahrung im Bereich Zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation und Verhaltensverändernde Kommunikation sammeln. Ein Wendepunkt in meiner Kommunikationspraxis und meinen Trainings kam mit der Achtsamkeit und der gewaltfreien Kommunikation nach Marshall Rosenberg.

Kommunikation gibt mir heute die Kraft und Energie für alles, was tagtäglich ansteht. Ich habe gelernt mit mir selbst verbunden zu sein, und authentische Beziehungen zu anderen aufzubauen. Ich habe unglaublich viel Freude daran mein Wissen weiterzugeben. Ich würde mich sehr freuen wenn ich Dich ein Stück auf Deiner Reise begleiten darf.

Carina Schmid
Carina Schmid

Ich kenne diese Momente nur zu gut. Als Krankenschwester und Direktorin für Gesundheitsprogramme einer internationalen Organization durfte ich reichlich Erfahrung im Bereich Zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation und Verhaltensverändernde Kommunikation sammeln. Ein Wendepunkt in meiner Kommunikationspraxis und meinen Trainings kam mit der Achtsamkeit und der gewaltfreien Kommunikation nach Marshall Rosenberg.

Kommunikation gibt mir heute die Kraft und Energie für alles, was tagtäglich ansteht. Ich habe gelernt mit mir selbst verbunden zu sein, und authentische Beziehungen zu anderen aufzubauen. Ich habe unglaublich viel Freude daran mein Wissen weiterzugeben. Ich würde mich sehr freuen wenn ich Dich ein Stück auf Deiner Reise begleiten darf.

Was mir zu den folgenden Worten einfällt

Für alle, die noch mehr über mich wissen möchten.

Meditation

Meditation hat mein Leben zum Positiven verändert. Zuvor habe ich mich manchmal wie ein Ballon gefühlt, der durch die Luft wirbelt. Alles hat sich unsicher angefühlt, ich bin anderen verlockenden Ballons gefolgt und wusste nicht so recht, welche Richtung die meine ist. Die Meditation setzt einen wichtigen Anker der mir Sicherheit und Klarheit gibt.

Improvisations Theater

Wenn ich auf der Bühne stehe mit nichts als einer vagen Idee, bleibt mir nichts anderes übrig, als mir selbst zu vertrauen, präsent zu sein, und meiner Angst zu folgen. Alles beginnt mit dem Satz: Ja und. Kein nein, kein aber, kein vielleicht. Es geht nicht darum, wie gut ich bin, sondern wie ich gemeinsam mit meinen Mitspielern etwas Neues erschaffe.

Seifenopern

Wir lernen gerne durch Geschichten. Als Direktorin für Gesundheitsprogrammen habe ich Veränderungen durch Entertainment-Education inspiriert, mit viel Drama, Bösewichten und Herzschmerz. Diese Leidenschaft ist nicht nur beruflicher Natur, ich liebe meine Serien.

Lieblingsorte

Ich bin an vielen Orten zuhause und liebe das Reisen. Durch meine Arbeit mit UNICEF und verschiedenen Gesundheitsministerien durfte ich viele Menschen und Kulturen weltweit kennenlernen. Trotz all dieser wunderbaren Plätze, mein Lieblingsort ist seit Kindertagen Oberstdorf. Wenn ich in den Alpen bin, kann ich loslassen.

Hasselhoff

Ich bin die Älteste von drei Mädels zuhause und wenn es irgendwo kommunikativ zur Sache geht, dann ist das die Familie. Als Schwestern haben wir früh gelernt zu verhandeln, z.B. mit meinem Papa, der selbstaufgenommene Musikkassetten von lokalen Blaskapellen für Autofahrten an die Adria bereit hielt. Es bedurfte EINIGER „Wann sind wir da?“, bevor unsere Musik erklang. 

Motto

„Wer aufhört zu lernen, hat aufgehört gut zu sein.“ Ich liebe es, zu wachsen und Neues zu entdecken. Mein erster Schulabschluß war ein Hauptschulabschluß, inzwischen unterrichte ich an der Columbia University hier in New York. Es macht mir großen Spaß, gemeinsam mit meinen Studenten zu lernen. 

Berufliche Meilensteine

2020-present Brooklyn, NY
Carina Schmid, LLC Founded
2020-present Columbia University, New York, NY
Lecturer

Lecturer des MPH Kurses New Media and Health an der Mailman School for Public Health.

2020 The Center for Nonviolent Communication
Nonviolent Communication Intensive Training
2020 Oren Jay Sofer
Mindful Communication Training
2020 UMass Memorial Healthcare Center for Mindfulness
Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction Training
2012-2019 PCI Media, New York, NY
Global Health Programs Director

Verhaltensändernde Gesundheitskommunikation durch Storytelling & Entertainment Education. Training of Trainers für Gesundheitsdienstleister und Gesundheitsministerien im Bereich zwischenmenschliche und verhaltensändernde Kommunikation. 

2012 Columbia University, New York, NY
Master of Public Health

Schwerpunkt Gesundheitsförderung und Kommunikation.

2009 FHTW, Berlin, Germany
Bachelor of Business Communication

Schwerpunkt Gesundheitskommunikation.

2000-2006 RKU, Ulm, Germany
Head Nurse, Stroke Unit
1999 Biberach, Germany
Registered Nurse

Bist Du bereit mit Wirkung zu kommunizieren?

Abonniere meinen Newsletter, um Kommunikations-Tipps und Insights zu erhalten.